Three Anime Characters that Describe Me

Whilst browsing my fellow anime blogs, I stumbled upon a fun post from fellow Otaku blogger (and super sweet lady) Aria Cross. She was answering a Twitter challenge to describe herself using three fictional characters and decided to explain her choices in more detail. I enjoyed it quite a bit and figured I would throw my own hat into the ring. Alas, I don’t have a twitter for the blog just yet.

I know, I know. Forgive me, internet, for I have sinned.

tumblr_n515s2bmnj1s9ed8bo4_500

But I do have a blog, and my lovely readers, so I present to you here the three fictional characters I would use to describe myself. Today we get to know each other a little more, awesome reader base, and I’d be delighted to hear which you would use. So consider this a tag to you all.

 

  • Usagi Tsukino

fd785e53ce66eea8577ab75340bfe191

This is predictable of me, I know. But I wouldn’t be honest with myself if I didn’t include the character that made one of the biggest impacts on me because she was just like me.

Usagi is the sailor scout with her big, childish heart on her sleeve. She trips over her own feet regularly, cries at the drop of a hat, and chases after her fabled Prince Charming with reckless and destructive abandon. She might scare easily, but there’s no denying her gigantic heart of gold.

In short, Usagi is extremely emotional and runs pretty wild with her emotions. I too am open with my emotions and consider myself a helpless romantic. She taught me to always reach out to the people who need a friend the most – a habit I kept up all through high school.

  • Kaoru Kamiya

tumblr_mu79dv6ywr1so0mk9o1_500

And here is where Usagi and I part ways. While I am friendly to a fault, I am far from shy and very far from quiet. No, here is where I jump genres and find myself in league with one of the better love interests of the genre.

Kaoru is pushy, highly opinionated, and almost explosively independent. Once again, she’s on the childish side (a pattern I hang my head over). When she isn’t being a mama bear to the people in her care, she tends to keep everyone on their toes with her temper and tendency to violence. Now, I’m not a violent person physically but I can be a verbal steamroller if I’m not paying attention. I’m a strong and aggressively outgoing person, so watching Kaoru is a bit like looking into a slightly hyperbolic mirror.

  • Ritsu Sohma

560896-ritsu001

But, as someone who is prone to accidental foot-in-mouth sentences, I am always worried I’ve said the wrong thing or done the wrong thing with my friends and family. And when that happens, I can’t think of much else to do but apologize, apologize, apologize.

Ritsu is one of many on the Sohma Trauma Conga Line in the reverse harem anime, Fruits Basket. He was never very skilled at anything in life, didn’t know how to be very assertive, and tended to cross-dress as a means to mentally feel like he didn’t have to be so aggressive. But his parents were almost constantly apologizing for their son’s behavior rather than being understanding and now he suffers from very severe self-loathing and criticism.

We are all our worst critics, myself included. I’m usually the first to assume I’ve made a mistake and the first to apologize as profusely as possible.

ritsu_the_monkey_running_around_the_kitchen_gif_by_cutiekay182009-d60yhex

I’d love to see what the rest of you can come up with. In the meantime, feel free to like if you wanna see more post-types like this. And feel free to follow for more content!

One thought on “Three Anime Characters that Describe Me

Leave a Reply

